Pointers for Metta Meditation Part 2 of 3

Find out some useful tips for the meditation

Points to keep in mind when practicing Metta Meditation

Pointers for Metta Meditation Part 2 of 3

In Metta Meditation part 1, we familiarize ourselves with the sense of Metta in our minds. This was achieved by using people we know as our subjects of meditation.

Please refer to the article “Pointers for Metta Meditation part 1 of 3” for more details.

It is important that we practice part 1 until we are completely familiar with Metta before moving on to part 2. Otherwise, part 2 will not be very useful.

In part 2, our subject of meditation becomes more general and larger in scale. This is done by using the beings in the 6 realms of existence as our subject of meditation. When we bring up each realm during our meditation, it is important to note that the focus is still on Metta.

Therefore, do not dwell or linger or fantasize about the beings of each realm and how they look like, or how they feel. If we do that, it is no longer meditation but daydreaming.

The objective is to make sure that our sense of unconditional goodwill and loving kindness remains equally strong as those found during stage 1 meditation. (Even though our subjects of meditation in stage 2 are a bit abstract.)

In addition to that, it is good to have some basic Buddhist Knowledge about the sufferings of the six realms of existence. Namely:

1) Hell Beings - ceaseless violence

2) Hungry ghosts - ceaseless hunger and thirst

3) Animal - ceaseless ignorance and suffering caused by their environment 4) Human - ceaseless desire, anger, and ignorance

5) Demigods - Jealousy

6) Gods – impermanence

The purpose of this is to understand that all beings in samsara share a commonality. That is suffering.

In our meditative verse, we add “May you be free from suffering”, in addition to “May you be well and happy”.

This is an expansion of Metta to Compassion (Karuna).

The important point is to develop a sense of Metta and Karuna in our minds. And at this point of the practice, we are starting to practice equanimity. This is because our subject of meditation is ultimately, all sentient beings.

This completes the pointers for stage 2 meditation.

Additional Notes:

In addition to the above, we should develop the right understanding that beings can only be free from suffering when they are free from samsara.

Similarly, being completely well and happy can only be achieved when we attained nirvana (enlightenment).

Thus to help ourselves and help others, we need to practice BuddhaDharma. And in some minor way, when the opportunity arises, we try to share Dharma.